Navagraha Temples – Thingalur
April 2, 2016 By sastha

The Kailasanathar Temple is situated in the beautiful village called Thingalur, about 33 kilometres from Kumbakonam on the way to Tiruvaiyaru. The presiding deity is Soma (Moon), but the main deity is Kailasanathar or Siva. The place is revered by the verses of Appar, but since there is no mention about the deity, it is […]

Navagraha Temples – Suryanar Kovil
April 1, 2016 By sastha

Suryanar Kovil is located about 15 km from Kumbakonam, 2 km from Aduthurai and the Kumbakonam – Mayiladuthurai road in Tamil Nadu and a part of the Navagraha (nine planets) temples. The presiding deity is Suryanar, the Sun, and his consorts Ushadevi and Pratyusha Devi. The temple also has separate shrines for the other eight […]